Houzz Logo Print
webuser_212451943

Advice for a beginner entrepreneur

I am planning on launching my interior design business in January after the holidays are over. I don't have anyone to bounce ideas off of so i'm just writing things down as I think of them. Any advice on things that I may be missing being this is my first time?

Commentaires (22)

• PRO
    GN Builders L.L.C
    il y a 5 ans

Not being an interior designer, but from a home builder prospective the only advise I can give you is to go with the things that excite you, don't be afraid to explore colors and try not to blow customers budget, knowing math also helps because you will need it :-) and most importantly take your time and listen to your customers wants and needs and get the feel for the space and go with things that make you feel good.

One more thing, consider working with another experienced designer, even as a helper without pay just to see how the industry works and pick up a few ins&outs.

Everything else will be a walk in the park!

P.S

Don't hesitate to drop me a line on my profile page if you need a 3RD layouts or some visuals for any project I will be happy to help you -) or you can drop me an email on my web-page: 3dlayoutnj.com

You should also create a Pro profile on Houzz so you can tell a bit about yourself, upload some of your work and your customers can leave reviews and all that other good stuff.

Good luck!

• Utilisateur Houzz - 212451943
    Auteur d'origine
    il y a 5 ans

Thank you so much for your insight. I will defiantly keep those things and you in mind as I get further in my process!

• PRO
    Sina Sadeddin Architectural Design
    il y a 5 ans

Also not an interior designer but a home builder here are a few tips

-Learn how to give the client what they want/need, not necessarily what they ask for

-Good communication and accountability go a long way in this business

-A good portfolio and recommendations can take you far