Houzz Logo Print
taflanagan

How to keep view from arched windows without going blind

taflanagan
il y a 6 ans

I just bought a home on a lake with great views. The main living area is 20 feet tall with beautiful arched windows above and sliding glass doors below. It faces the west and gets a blistering afternoon sun full of glare and heat. The windows are double pained with a uv protection but no help with the glare and heat. I have looked at window films, plantation blinds and solar shades. I am very new to this and have no vision. Can you help me decide which is the best choice. I really do want to keep the view and we could us some privacy with the bottom windows at night. Thanks.

I

Commentaires (17)

• Olychick
    il y a 6 ans

I'd treat the lower windows with whatever you need for decor and privacy at night.

Then I would mount these outside to cover the upper windows when needed....remote controlled and you can see the view through them. You can mount them up under your eaves and you will barely notice the cover. Raise when the sun isn't intense:
    Motorized solar shades

taflanagan a remercié Olychick
  • einportlandor
    il y a 6 ans

My neighbors have solar shades in their very modern house. Looks terrific.

taflanagan a remercié einportlandor
  • einportlandor
    il y a 6 ans

Smith and Noble carries them, just to give you an idea.

taflanagan a remercié einportlandor
  • taflanagan
    Auteur d'origine
    il y a 6 ans

Thanks for all the great ideas. Never thought of using the solar shades on the outside of the house. There will be some periods that we might not be here and I would like to have continual heat protection. Can I leave the solar shades down for long periods of time on the outside of the house?

• arcy_gw
    il y a 6 ans

That is really unfortunate..it is such a shame to cover them at all--but you have no choice....

• taflanagan
    Auteur d'origine
    il y a 6 ans