Houzz Logo Print
webuser_891671212

where to put a pillar support in kitchen?

I have been advised I need a support pillar in my kitchen, as knocking down internal walls to create an open plan kitchen/living/dining room. The removals are in red and the island is there for show. The pillar needs to be located close to the number 3 in the middle of the image...but I don't know how to incorporate it?! Stand alone?! Made into a feature?! Attached to a peninsula?!

Any ideas or images gratefully received! Thank you

Commentaires (11)

• Dee
    l'année dernière

If you keep the little wall section directly behind the toilet wall you can create a little utility / pantry area. This will reduce your steel length and could avoid you needing a pillar.
    I’m no engineer, but I would have assumed you can get a steel long enough as is anyway without needing a pillar at position 3 on your plan.

Utilisateur Houzz - 891671212 a remercié Dee
  • CWD
    l'année dernière

Not answering the question - but does your WC need to be that big? Put the toilet backing onto the understairs and you'll get away with the room being smaller I think, as you don't need full headspace above toilet like you do at the sink. I like that it's got the window but that can be changed to a smaller window. Much prefer more room in the kitchen.

Utilisateur Houzz - 891671212 a remercié CWD
  • Sonia
    l'année dernière

I would have thought a structural engineer or builder would advise on that? My sister’s beam was within the peninsula. The only picture I have is this one of the not quite finished kitchen.

Utilisateur Houzz - 891671212 a remercié Sonia
  • PRO
    Walk Interior Architecture & Design
    l'année dernière

it looks like you could have a better/bigger kitchen design using the LH wall, rotate the island and include a 'feature' pillar in the island. you need to consider the kitchen and other furniture items that will be used in the space to help with the overall design - so more cohesive.